Home /Australia / Nauru

Flags | STD / ISD | Zip Code | Maps of All Countries | List of All Countries | Photo | World Blog

Africa | Asia | Europe | North America | South America | Oceania Australia | Antarctica

Oceania Australia

Capital :  Canberra

Capital :  Suva

Capital :  Bairiki
AustraliaMarshal Is.
Capital :  Majuro

Capital :  Kolonia


New Zealand
Capital :   Wellington

Capital :  Koror

AustraliaPapaua New Guinia
Capital :  Port Moresby

AustraliaSolomon Is.
Capital :  Honiara
Capital :  Nuku' alofa

Capital :  Funafuti

Capital :  Port - vita

AustraliaWestern Samoa
Capital :  Apia
Currency : Tala


An island republic in the South Pacific Ocean, Nauru was once known as Pleasant Island. The exact origin of the Nauruans is still in the realm of debate. It became a colonial possession of Germany and Britain who were attracted to its phosphate deposits. It was occupied by Australia in World War I was administered by a League of Nations mandate. During the Second World War it bore the burnt of Japanese aggression. Following the war it became a UN trust territory. It attained its independence in 1968 and became a member of the UN in 1999 as the smallest independent republic in the world.

The only country in the world with no official capital, Nauru is heading towards troubled times ahead as the phosphate supplies are nearing exhaustion.

Travel overview
As you reach Nauru, you might find yourself in a pop-up fairy tale. The country has some great reefs that are ideal for fishing and diving. Other attractions of Nauru include the Arts & Crafts Centre, which showcases baskets, fishing nets, stone tools and grass skirts. The Nauru Phosphate Corporation Museum displays colonial-era cannons and a number of artifacts from World War II. Command Ridge is another prime tourist spot.

Capital: no official capital; government offices in Yaren District
Location: Oceania, island in the South Pacific Ocean, south of the Marshall Islands
Climate: tropical
Total Area: 21 sq km
Total Population: 1 13,528
Population Growth Rate: 1.781%
Sex Ratio: 1 male(s)/female
Ethnic Groups: Nauruan, Chinese, European
Irrigated land: 545,960 sq km
Languages: Nauruan, English
Time Zone: UTC+12
Currency: Australian dollar (AUD
Type of govt.: republic
Head of Govt.: President Ludwig Scotty
Major Political Parties: Democratic Party, Nauru Party, Nauru First (Naoero Amo) Party
Participation in International Organizations: FAO, ICAO, ICCt, ACP, AsDB, C, Interpol, OPCW, PIF, IOC, ITU, Sparteca, SPC, UNESCO, UPU, UN, UNCTAD, WHO
Major Agricultural Products: coconuts
Natural Resources & Minerals: phosphates, fish
Industry & Transport: phosphate mining, offshore banking, coconut products
Airports: 1
Roadways: 30
Major Trade Partners: South Africa, South Korea, Canada, Australia, US, Germany
Exports: $64,000
Imports: $20 million

Maps of world LogoMapsNWorld.com